Two Puffers on a 20G Tank?

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
brodyx
Puffer Fry

Two Puffers on a 20G Tank?

Post by brodyx »

Hey there , im new to puffers , well , almost new , i have a 20G planted aquarium .. With:

1 F8 Puffer
1 Platty
1 Plecostomus
1 Paradise Fish

And i use to have a Monodactylus but it died 3 days ago :'( , he started to open his mouth and his gills expanded , 1 day after that he started to gasp for air on the surface till he died :S...

Well now i bought 2 new fish , 1 F8 puffer , and one Scat.. Will they be ok in my 20G community tank? I already got my Scat in the tank and he has been fighting with my Paradise Fish all day..Well hehe all 30 Min since i got him in there , and the Paradise Fish is the one looking for him :P...

My F8 is in QT and i dunno if he would give me any problems with my other F8...Well , can it be done ??? Can i get my F8 in the tank with my other F8 and fish?

Thnxs for the help...
.o(Puff!)o. ... - :S "Nice".
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Post by Pufferpunk »

Ok, you need to 1st decide if you want FW or BW fish. The F8s & scat are BW & the rest are FW (the platy would appreciate a little aquarium salt, but it isn't necessary). BW is made with marine salt & quite a bit of it. FW fish do not like to live in BW conditions.

Definately return the scat, as it will grow as large as your outstreched hand--way too big for that tank! Your tank is the perfect size for 2 F8s & a few bumblebee gobies, but that would be it. Please read all you can about your puffers here. Start out with the Library.