Breeding Dwarf Puffers

Are your puffers feeling a little naughty & lil ones are the result? Post your findings here!
cts6143
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United States

Breeding Dwarf Puffers

Post by cts6143 »

Hi, I am new to the puffer community and this is my first time writing out to you guys. Currently, I have a 20 gallon tank with 1 male and 2 female dwarf puffers. It is slightly planted and the fish are thriving very well. The plants include Java fern and Java Moss. My question is: How do you breed these dwarf puffers? What water conditions are best when breeding? Do I have enough (and the best types) of plants for breeding? What do I do with the eggs and fry? Thank you!! :lol: :D
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: Breeding Dwarf Puffers

Post by Pufferpunk »

Play some Barry White for them?
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"
Pufftastic
Green Spotted Puffer
My Puffers: 1 x C travancoricus
Have also kept:
T biocellatus
Location (country): California USA

Post by Pufftastic »

My DPs bred all on their own, without any help from me. Mine liked hidden areas to do their spawning -- they seemed to like a large hollow shipwreck ornament I had that was in three large pieces. My DPs are always happiest in very heavily decorated environments. I don't think they care if plants are live or artificial, but they do like LOTS of them.

I removed the two babies that I found, but due to my inexperience and not knowing how to feed them properly, they died. :( I suspect the rest were gobbled up by the other DPs.
Yo ho, yo ho, a puffer's life for me.
cts6143
Puffer Fry

Post by cts6143 »