salt per gallon???

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
ebby
Puffer Fry

salt per gallon???

Post by ebby »

ok,

i'm getting confused cause i'm not good at math so can someone explain how much salt per gallon to put in? right now i have a 10 gal tank (just til the 29 gal is ready) for my GSP, with a biowheel filter. We've been doing 50% water changes every week and i want to be sure i'm doing everything right.

is it 1 teaspoon per gal or what?
Phaedrus
Former Staff Member

Post by Phaedrus »

What specific gravity are you trying to obtain?

Generally you'll have to figure out for yourself by trial and error how much you'll need.

Personally, I use 3 gallon containers for my replacement water and it takes about 8 tablespoons to get ~1.011 SG using instant ocean.
ChesapeakeSwellfish
Mentor

Post by ChesapeakeSwellfish »

First, you should read the articles in the Library under "water and filtration". I recommend that you read all of them.

How big is your GSP? Is he in brackish water now? What is the salinity?

The 50% weekly water changes are good (mine are ~ 45-47% but also weekly). The water change is the perfect time to slowly increase your salinity (if he is in FW or low brackish). Do you have a way to measure salinity? Its very hard to do brackish tanks without some way to measure salinity, either a hydrometer, refractometer, or salinity meter.

The salts I've used (Instant Ocean and Coralife at home and Cargill at work) take about 1 cup to raise FW by ~7 to ~9 ppt (full seawater is ~35 ppt) per 5 gallon bucket. The SG of this brackish water would be ~1.004 to 1.005.