Tank setup - substrate advice

Tain't fresh, and tain't marine! Talk about brackish setups.
kudos1uk
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United Kngdom

Tank setup - substrate advice

Post by kudos1uk »

Hi all,

So I kind of rescued 2 GSP who were living in an un-cycled 10L freshwater tank being fed frozen bloodworm cubes (dropped in frozen), no heater & no airline.
Even so, I had no experience with Puffers or brackish tanks and did not really know what I had let myself in for, but have done my research now and I am where I am.

Initially I got them into my freshwater 60L tank which is way too small but a better life for the time being, they are currently 1.5 - 2" to tip of tail.

This is my two cute guys eating a meaty lunch (no longer an exclusive frozen bloodworm life): https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10154608948637567

so I have just bought a big 250L tank for them and am in the process of getting it ready, I have a lot of experience with freshwater and will have the tank fully cycled and ready before adding them.

My tank will have a Fluval 404 with loads of media and I am also building a new nitrAte reactor (my last attempt was a bad design and did not work well), nitrAtes is the only area I struggle with as my tap water has high-ish Nitrates (20).

Water is very hard PH8.2 ammonia and nitrItes always kept at 0.

I have read up on how to slowly increase the marine salt so I don't crash my tank and I'm fine with all that.

My only real question is what substrate do you recommend I use, I want to have something easy to vac clean, never used sand but guess it is hard to keep clean, it has small-ish base as it's a tall thin tank, 3feet tall 3feet wide.

Any other advice you can offer a puffer novice, I have done a lot of research and am feeding shelled food now for their beaks.