Overstocked Tank

Tain't fresh, and tain't marine! Talk about brackish setups.
Pufferman
Dwarf Puffer
My Puffers: 1 GSP
Location (country): Texas

Overstocked Tank

Post by Pufferman »

I am pretty new to fish so please go easy on me. I'll start with a list of the tank and accessories first.
40 gallon breeder tank, Topfin 40 HOB filter, Eheim 2217 canister filter, 200watt heater, thermometer, lid and flourecent light, 40lbs of the really white caribsea arroginite sand, two big pieces of texas holey rock, baby floating grass, and a large piece of driftwood.
Here is what is in the tank now
6 mbuna cichlids, 1 Chinese algae eater, 1 blue lobster, 2 small redclaw crabs, 3 Green Spotted puffers, and about 15-20 of those little pointy snails they gave me at petco to feed my puffers.
I have arranged to rehome the chiclids, algae eater, and blue lobster today.
I just got an api water test kit yesterday and everything is right except the nitrates are reading 160ppm, should I be ok after removeing the listed fish and doing some water changes regularly from now on?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: Overstocked Tank

Post by Pufferpunk »

You've got enough room there for a single adult GSP. NONE of those other fish are BW species.

I'm not surprised at your nitrate level. Lots & lots & lots of daily WC ahead. That blue lobster is pufferfood.

Pointy snails? You mean Malaysian Trumpets? Way too hard for a puffer to chew on--can possibly break their teeth.

Start reading: library/puffers-in-focus/an-introductio ... d-puffers/
library/feeding/feeding-your-puffers/
viewtopic.php?f=8&t=19348