Chemicals to put in tank to cycle?

Tain't fresh, and tain't marine! Talk about brackish setups.
3dhuck
Puffer Fry
Location (country): Abilene Texas

Chemicals to put in tank to cycle?

Post by 3dhuck »

Im new to brackish water and i was wondering if anyone knew of a chemical to help start the cycle. I bought the 37 gallon marineland eclipse tank with the bio wheel filter in it. I also have live sand that i pulled out of my 20 gallon aquarium. I then took the 10 guppies i had in the 20 gallon and put them in the 37. Should i just let the aquarium run or should i add some chemicals to speed it up. I am building the tank for one green spotted puffer.
sevenyearnight
Former Staff Member
My Puffers: T. nigroviridis
Balki Bartokomous
Location (country): USA

Re: Chemicals to put in tank to cycle?

Post by sevenyearnight »

[welcome]
Chemicals don't cycle your tank, bacteria does.
What is the salinity of your tanks?
Please explain what you mean by live sand, because sand from an established marine tank is live sand. Live sand in a bag is really "lie" sand. There is nothing live about it, and the dead bacteria just produces ammonia.
3dhuck
Puffer Fry

Post by 3dhuck »

The sand i have is carribean arragonite sand and it has been in an established tank since day one. Also i just set the tank up yesterday and my salinity is at 1.013. The fish store here keeps there gsp' s in a salinity of 1.011.. This brackish is very new to me im going away from saltwater as it is getting too expensive.
sevenyearnight
Former Staff Member
Balki Bartokomous

Post by sevenyearnight »

GSP's need at least 1.018 salinity as adults, and with 50% weekly water changes that will exceed the maintenance costs of a FOWLR with an SG of 1.021 - 1.023, which is why most people go with that set up for GSP's.