Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Non puffer freshwater discussion. Don't tell your puffers, they'll be jealous!
Post Reply
MilesE
Puffer Fry
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 7:50 am
My Puffers: Figure 8 (Pac Man)

Non puffers:
3 Bumblebee Gobies (Minions)
Location (country): Taiwan

Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Post by MilesE » Sat May 27, 2017 9:41 am

I'm cycling (fishless) a 32 gallon tank, getting it ready to eventually house a figure 8 puffer and some bumblebee gobies. I'm in the middle of the cycle but, I need to remove some sand. I've been reading that deeper substrates can cause issues so, I want to get the substrate down to 1" but, it currently is about 2 - 3 inches.

If I remove the sand now, while in the middle of the cycle, will I cause a delay in the cycling process? Would it be better to wait until the cycle is over then remove the excess substrate? If doesn't matter because I will disturb the biological filter whenever I remove the sand, then I might as well remove it now and start the cycling process over.

Thanks,
Miles

User avatar
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
Posts: 30014
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:06 am
Gender: Female
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Post by Pufferpunk » Sat May 27, 2017 11:15 am

Now is a good time to do it.
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"

MilesE
Puffer Fry
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 7:50 am
My Puffers: Figure 8 (Pac Man)

Non puffers:
3 Bumblebee Gobies (Minions)
Location (country): Taiwan

Re: Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Post by MilesE » Sat May 27, 2017 11:38 am

Pufferpunk wrote:
Sat May 27, 2017 11:15 am
Now is a good time to do it.
Thanks for the reply. Will it restart the cycling process? I just need to know if I need to reset my log of the cycling process.

User avatar
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
Posts: 30014
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 11:06 am
Gender: Female
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Post by Pufferpunk » Sat May 27, 2017 11:41 pm

Just see what happens when you add the same amount of ammonia.
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"

MilesE
Puffer Fry
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun May 14, 2017 7:50 am
My Puffers: Figure 8 (Pac Man)

Non puffers:
3 Bumblebee Gobies (Minions)
Location (country): Taiwan

Re: Removing substrate/sand while cycling

Post by MilesE » Wed May 31, 2017 2:23 am

Done. It appears the cycle did not reset. Thanks.

Post Reply