GSP with Papuan Toby issues

The forum for those beautiful marine puffers!
Murky
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United States

GSP with Papuan Toby issues

Post by Murky »

Hello, I am new to the puffer forums and I am experiencing some problems with my 2 fish. I have had my GSP in a cycled 40 gallon he is acclimated to full marine now I have had him for a little over a month. He is a little over 2" in length, I recently picked up a Papuan Toby who is a little bit bigger maybe 2.5", and he has been rather territorial and nipped my GSP's tail fin.I think I made a big mistake, I always thought they were rather peaceful with other fish my GSP never bothered him, but now my GSP has a swollen cornea with a slightly white coating, I am currently treating with salt in a qt. I know GSP's get rather big and I realize I wont be able to keep both. I have read that GSP's get significantly larger than Toby's but I have grown attached to my GSP, and want the best for him. So my question is which fish should I keep to live its full life out in this 40 gallon? Would I have to eventually get a bigger tank for the GSP to live its full life? The reason I ask is I don't think I have room for another tank and I do not plan on getting an even bigger one.
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: GSP with Papuan Toby issues

Post by Pufferpunk »

I wouldn't keep those 2 in anything <75g. Looks like 1 of them is going to need to be rehomed.
If the GSP is already in marine, how are you treating with salt? I'd rehome the toby & put the GSP back into his tank. I do think he'd appreciate a larger tank but a 40g will do.
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...