New to puffers- need some advice

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
Morgana
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United States

New to puffers- need some advice

Post by Morgana »

Hello everyone!

My name is Morgan, I do chemical oceanography for a living so I love all things water related! I purchased an adorable Green Spotted Puffer, about two months ago. Sadly I will say I purchased this fish from the dreaded Walmart, and was ill informed about this fish. Since purchasing I have done lots of research and have been gradually making necessary changes to ensure ultimate fish happiness! He is in a 30 gallon tank, has hiding places, and is at a steady temp of 76 degrees F, with an appropriate pH. My problem is that I have been feeding him flakes, as instructed by Walmart, and read he needs a better diet of frozen krill, bloodworms, snails and the like until he gets bigger. I have been having trouble getting him to eat the frozen krill, and the snails. I feel that since he is used to eating flakes, he may not know to eat this other food, and now his belly isn't quite as round (it is still white). Any tips on reaching my GSP to eat different foods?

Sorry for such a long post, I'm new and wanted to give as much info as possible!

Thanks 😊
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: New to puffers- need some advice

Post by Pufferpunk »

[welcome]
He actually eats flakes???
Try live worms.
Not sure if you've seen these articles:
library/puffers-in-focus/an-introductio ... d-puffers/
library/feeding/feeding-your-puffers/ht ... ur-puffer/
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...