New Figure 8 setup

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
MilesE
Puffer Fry
My Puffers: Figure 8 (Pac Man)

Non puffers:
3 Bumblebee Gobies (Minions)
Location (country): Taiwan

New Figure 8 setup

Post by MilesE »

Hello all, I am not new to the aquarium hobby but, I am new to figure 8 puffers. A few years ago, I had a couple saltwater aquariums. I'll try to make a long story short as more detail about my situation is in the Greet forum. I quickly setup an 8 gallon aquarium 2 weeks ago to try and rescue a couple figure 8 puffers that my wife bought from a vendor thinking they were another type of fish that "looked interesting". Due to communication issues (we're in Taiwan but not yet fluent in Mandarin/Chinese) she did not realize what she was getting and could not return them once she brought them home.

I quickly bought the small aquarium and supplies as a starter until I could figure out where the good aquarium stores were located. I bought some "photo synthetic bacteria" to try and instantly cycle the tank. I know this is not the best way to cycle a tank but, I again, I was trying to get something up and running quickly as the fish were already in poor condition (tattered fins and I think at least one had a parasite).

I was able to find a couple really good aquarium supply stores so, I was able to get some equipment. But, sad to say, the fish did not make it. I may be wrong, but, I don't think it was due to "new tank syndrome" as I did frequent water changes and the test kits (ammonia, nitrites, and nitrates) were always at zero. The tank currently is empty except some cherry shrimp (bought for the puffers to eat), some substrate, rock decor, hang on the back filter, light, and some Vallisneria.