Do you think I'm ready for a F8?

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
Iri4810
Puffer Fry
My Puffers: 4DPeas in a Pod
Location (country): United States

Do you think I'm ready for a F8?

Post by Iri4810 »

Hi guys! If you guys recognize me, my DPS are still alive, plump, and doing well (my female likes head scratches???)

A few months ago, I went to my LFS, and saw these super plump, super awesome figure eight puffers. Each one was about an inch and a half, with bright markings. I was screaming inside, telling myself to get one before they sold out. HOWEVER. I didn't get one, due to the fact that i knew nothing about them, and didn't have my tank ready. Now, i'm waiting for them to restock on these awesome puffers, and preparing for them!

SO, i'd love it if you guys could rate me on my "readiness" for my figure eight puffer. Ive been preparing for one for about three months now, along with a cycled tank, and snails! :* I really appreciate the help/crits!

My tank size is a nice 20gal
As of right now, my tank salinity is 1.008, with marine salt.

Ive researched quite a bit, and found that a lot of plants "die off" in brackish water? However, I have quite a few plants in my aquarium that are still doing okay (knock on wood @_@), and so, lots of hiding spots. Will my plants die off eventually? Or did i just do a good job of acclimating them? haha

I am using carib-sea eco complete as my substrate, as well as a fine white sand for the "hiding spot" I created for the puffer. I plan to put a few more rocks near the opening of the hiding cave, to close it up a bit and provide some privacy, but I've yet to find a nice rock again (I'm picky about rocks? 8|)