F8 puffer questions

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
DGabbs
Figure 8 Puffer
Location (country): Canada

F8 puffer questions

Post by DGabbs »

Hi,

I'm brand new to brackish water and also to puffers. I really like F8 puffers and i went in to my LFS and they said they can be ordered in any time.

I have:
-25 gallon aquarium
- AC50 filter
-proper heater
-silica sand
-driftwood
-lots of round smooth rocks
-hydrometer
-instant ocean salt
-air stone
-master water test kit

I will probably do weekly/every other weekly 50% water changes. Preferably weekly but some times it just can be done.

Before any puffer is introduced to the tank i will make sure it is very well cycled.

Here are my questions:

1. in a 25 gallon, with an aquaclear 50 would i be able to get two f8s in there? I know its preferable to have 15 per fish, but some seem to say 15 for first and 10 for additional.

2. I would really like to feed the puffer(s) a wide variety of food including meaty food like bloodworms and brine, and hard shelled food like snails, shrimp, crayfish... Do F8s like human grade shrimp (just your standard grocery store stuff). Also what other stuff do they like that can be found in the seafood section of a grocery store. Just asking because my little brother works at a grocery store and can get anything there for a really cheap price.

3. I'm going to keep the water around 1.005 and I'm just hoping the young F8s are ok with this. Some say its best to start out FW when they're young, but that seems overly complicated.

4. I think i will try to feed the the F8 2-3 time per week, unless you think thats too much/to little??? I plan to have a snail breeding tank going soon. My LFS would love to supply me with their nuisance snails. :)

I've been in the hobby for many years, and i would honestly never purchase a fish and not follow through with all the care.

Thanks, I may have more questions as we go along. :)
.oOo.oOo.