Hello from Ohio!

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
runningboy01
Dwarf Puffer
Location (country): USA

Hello from Ohio!

Post by runningboy01 »

Hello all.

I just joined the forums and have already done a ton of reading.

I was in my Pet Store last week to get cat food and saw the most interesting looking fish. Upon further inspection they turned out to be Figure 8 and Leopard Puffers (I assume Leopard Puffers is another name for Green Spotted Puffers?). Needless to say, I became very interested in started doing some reading, which lead me here.

For a bit of background information - I am 29, married and have a 16 month old and 2 cats. I work in IT and am quite busy. I have never personally owned a fish tank, although we had beta fish when I was a kid. My mom is obsessed with Fish Tanks, but has all Fresh Water.

Needless to say, I am looking at getting either F8 or GSP. Currently, I have no equipment of any sort and will need to purchase everything. If anyone has any pointers/guides/etc, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Anyways, from what I've read, I would need a minimum of a 30 Gallon Tank (looking to start with only 1 Puffer). I did find this and thought that maybe it would be good to start with and then grow from there:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0035H366U?tag=2011-fb-01-20
Any thoughts?

I know I can get a tank off craigslist or something, but I'm unsure of what else would be needed if it only comes with a Tank and Lid.

I tried to go to the Library and Puffpedia but they both seem to be currently down.

Any advice/tips/help/suggestion is greatly appreciated.
DrKennethNoisewater
Green Spotted Puffer
My Puffers: Puffers:
2xGSP
Non Puffers:
3xPictus Catfish
1xBlack Ghost Knife
1xGolden Dojo Loach
1xHighfin Pleco
1xBoesemani Rainbow
4xHarlequin Rasboras
Location (country): under a bridge ontario, canada

Re: Hello from Ohio!

Post by DrKennethNoisewater »