New puffer owner

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
TankGurl
Puffer Fry

New puffer owner

Post by TankGurl »

Hello folks,

I'm new to keeping puffers, but not new to keeping tanks. Presently I have 2 African cichlid tanks, a 65 gallon Lake Malawi and a 135 Gallon Lake Tanganyika. (images of species kept in sig below)

So, I've just setup a 36 gallon tank which is cycling with the help of BioSpira. I purchsed 2 puffers a few days ago. A Figure 8 and a GSP, both around 1 inch. (They are both in my hospital tank until their home is ready)

Here's my question. I keep my cichlid tanks at a high PH, usually 8.2-8.4 by adding a Rift Lake Buffer of espom salt/sea salt/baking soda (1 teaspoon of each per 5 gallon). GH and KH are over 200. Could I add the same mixture to my puffer tank? I'll be picking up a salinity gauge tomorrow for a more accurate salt gauge.

I'm assuming from my research that I should cut out the baking soda, therefore avoiding a high PH, but keeping up with salt additives to achieve a brackish parameter?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Kelly
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Post by Pufferpunk »

It is not sugested to keep these species together for several reasons--GSPs are more aggressive, grow 3x larger & require much higher SG than F8s. You may be able to keep them together as very young juveniles though, if the fish you have don't turn out to be killers. By then it's too late...

I suggest using a substrate of aragonite or crushed coral to keep the pH at a steady 8. Please read the info on these fish posted in the Library.