Irrubesco questions ???

Dwarf, Red Eye, South American & more. Freshwater puffer talk in here.
Dm8100
Puffer Fry
Location (country): Usa

Irrubesco questions ???

Post by Dm8100 »

An exhaustive search on facebook has led me to the puffer forum. I’m happy to be here! I have some questions for those of you that have irrubesco puffers (red eye red tail puffers). How frequently do you feed them? Once daily? Every other? What are your favorite foods to feed them? I have 5, 1 male, and 4 females. They are in a heavily planted 37 gallon tank. So far they have been thriving. I have been going through pond snails like crazy, and they love frozen blood worms, and live brine shrimp. I bought clams today, but I just don’t feel comfortable using them just yet. The puffs are still on the small side and the clams seem big. Please share your experiences with me. I’ll take any advice. I’ve been keeping fish for over 20 years. I have two tanks currently. A 65 g rainbow fish/Cory tank also planted, and my 37 g puffer tank. I love this hobby. I hope I have posted this in the right place. Thank you!
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: Irrubesco questions ???

Post by Pufferpunk »

[welcome]
Feed 1x/day, skipping 1 day/week. You have enough fish there for a 55g tank. I do hope you upgrade. Just crack open the clam & let them go at it! Clean up any uneaten pieces, after about 15 minutes.
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"
Dm8100
Puffer Fry

Post by Dm8100 »