Dwarf Puffer fish setup (new)

Dwarf, Red Eye, South American & more. Freshwater puffer talk in here.
bluewhale
Puffer Fry
Location (country): USA

Dwarf Puffer fish setup (new)

Post by bluewhale »

Hi I am new to keeping puffer fish and keeping live aquarium plants. I have not bought all the equipment yet as I wanted to double check if this would be the right set up or not. I know that dwarf puffers need a good filter, but I'm not sure if the 50 would be too much. I plan to spend at least 1-2 months cycling using the ammonia fishless cycle method. Because this would be my first planted tank and first puffer tank I'm unsure if I should try a live planted tank or just get a lot of fake silk plants and hiding places. I planned to get hiding places even if I do get live plants though. I'm currently unsure of lighting mainly due to the fact I'm not sure if I am going with a planet or non-planted tank.

I also plan to cycle another tank and breed small snails such as ramshorn snails. I also plan to try to also feed them frozen bloodworms if I can get them to eat the frozen food. I plan to ask my LFS what they feed the dwarf puffers they stock since depending on what it is that could work too. I plan to get 3-4 puffers once the tank is full cycled. I do not plan to house any other fish in the tank with the puffers. I also plan to use driftwood if I go with a planted tank. This would be a brand new tank as currently I am not running any other fish tanks.

20 Gallon tank
Aquaclear power filter 50 or 30
Aqueon pro heater 100 watt

Plants (If I go with a live planted tank) If you have other plant recommendations on top of these two. I am open to suggestions.
Java moss
Java Fern
CaribSea Eco-Complete (If I go with a planted tank) I'm open to other substrate suggestions. Or should I just do sand and add things to the water for extra nutrients.

Any suggestions, tips or recommendations on equipment or set up would be great.
Welch4
Fahaka Puffer
My Puffers: 1 GSP