Powerheads

Got any home remedies or DIY projects? Share them here!
Problems with your tank's equipment? We can help!
*GSP*Fan*
Green Spotted Puffer
My Puffers: Solandri
Location (country): USA

Powerheads

Post by *GSP*Fan* »

I have two Maxi-jet 900 pro water pumps to be used for circulation in my 60 gallon that is under construction. I also bought just a simple/cheap powerhead to use for mixing water for water changes. The two maxi-jets are placed on opposite sides of my tank already as I used them for mixing the water, only about 30 gallons for now, to have it ready for when the rock arrives. Since I am new to all of this I am unsure of how exactly I need to have these powerheads set up for the best circulation in the tank. I assume one on each side but don't know any more than that. I thought that there needed to be flow over the rock and also surface agitation, which leaves me a little stumped on how to place the powerheads in the tank.

So how am I supposed to know the powerheads are in the best positions possible? Suggestions as for placement? Also, will those two be all I'll need for 60 gallon?

There will be 50lbs of live rock and 25lbs of base rock.
bertie 83
My Puffers: lineatus R.I.P, South American puffer. Valentini puffer, porcupine puffer.
Non puffer
Danios, Tetras, Redtail Rasporas,
Harlequins, CAE's, Yoyo
Loaches, Clown loaches ,Eels, various shrimp, tangs,wrasses, damsels, chromis
Location (country): Brighton, England

Re: Powerheads

Post by bertie 83 »

2 should be ok I think. If they are positioned low pointing up slightly you will get some surface agitation. Also positioning high pointing down slightly causes agitation, this should also flow well over the live rock
It's amazing how easy maintenance is. If done regularly and thoroughly
bertie 83
My Puffers: lineatus R.I.P, South American puffer. Valentini puffer, porcupine puffer.
Non puffer
Danios, Tetras, Redtail Rasporas,
Harlequins, CAE's, Yoyo