Need some help with care info all input is appreciated

A place to discuss general puffer care or news.
Ventihedron
Puffer Fry
Location (country): New York

Need some help with care info all input is appreciated

Post by Ventihedron »

Hello Im new to this forum and I need assistance in the care requirements for two specific puffers. The first of which the avacado puffer. I've heard then can live in a 20 gallon long tank and only get around 4 to 6 inches. I was wondering if anyone had anymore info on them as info is limited from what I can see lol. The second fish is the figure 8 puffers! I love these little guys but my LFS sells them in freshwater. I know they must be converted to brackish but I was wondering how to go about that as I'm not very experienced with brackish fish. And I was also told that.if I were to get a 29 gallon tank I could house 3 of them if well planted is this true? The filter I'm using is a sponge filter made for 60 gallon tanks with a 55 gallon air pump.
astrid37
Figure 8 Puffer
My Puffers: Seven T. schoutedeni
Location (country): US

Re: Need some help with care info all input is appreciated

Post by astrid37 »

This may help with the Figure 8 questions:
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=28645
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Post by Pufferpunk »

"Avacado" puffer is possibly the Modestus?
viewtopic.php?f=38&t=28630
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"
AZL
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United Kingdom

Post by AZL »