nitrate level

Non puffer freshwater discussion. Don't tell your puffers, they'll be jealous!

Re: nitrate level

Postby El Scorpio on Wed Mar 14, 2012 9:00 pm

When was the last time you changed your aquarium filter? Old filters full of deteriorating stuff can generate a lot of nitrate.
User avatar
El Scorpio
Fahaka Puffer
 
Posts: 503
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2010 12:11 pm
TPF Gallery: Visit Gallery
Gender: Male
My Puffers: Tetraodon Nigroviridis
Location (country): Louisville, KY.

Re: nitrate level

Postby suvattii2012 on Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:10 pm

I upgraded to a bigger filter about 3 weeks ago.
Arrowhead
User avatar
suvattii2012
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:52 am
My Puffers: Arrowhead / Suvattii
Location (country): UK

Re: nitrate level

Postby Terrance on Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:16 pm

You could always add fast growing plants in your tank. It will become very messy though if you don't maintain it.

I'm testing some Pond Matrix to see if it really brings down nitrAte. I'm also tracking another hobbyist testing Matrix. This other fellow is getting lower nitrAtes with slower flow through his canister, but fast flow does not make Matrix effective at all.

If this becomes a big problem for you, then look into algae turf scrubbers.
Kind regards,
Terrance
Image
User avatar
Terrance
Fahaka Puffer
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2011 1:10 am
Location: Seattle
Gender: Male
My Puffers: Retired Puffer Addict
Location (country): USA

Re: nitrate level

Postby suvattii2012 on Wed Mar 14, 2012 11:23 pm

Terrance wrote:You could always add fast growing plants in your tank. It will become very messy though if you don't maintain it.

I'm testing some Pond Matrix to see if it really brings down nitrAte. I'm also tracking another hobbyist testing Matrix. This other fellow is getting lower nitrAtes with slower flow through his canister, but fast flow does not make Matrix effective at all.

If this becomes a big problem for you, then look into algae turf scrubbers.


Ok thanks. I have some willow moss and a few swords in there from ahwile ago and i put some new water wisteria plants in there yesterday. I have some more of the wisteria coming tommorrow. I hope that helps.
Arrowhead
User avatar
suvattii2012
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:52 am
My Puffers: Arrowhead / Suvattii
Location (country): UK

Re: nitrate level

Postby RTR on Thu Mar 15, 2012 1:33 pm

Sometimes test strips are correct. Sometimes they are way off. IMHO. they are a waste of time. Unreliable info is worse than no info.
Where's the fish? - Neptune
RTR
Mentor
 
Posts: 6085
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location (country): East Coast, USA

Re: nitrate level

Postby suvattii2012 on Thu Mar 15, 2012 2:53 pm

RTR wrote:Sometimes test strips are correct. Sometimes they are way off. IMHO. they are a waste of time. Unreliable info is worse than no info.


Well they seem to work.
Arrowhead
User avatar
suvattii2012
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:52 am
My Puffers: Arrowhead / Suvattii
Location (country): UK

Re: nitrate level

Postby Arny on Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:34 pm

You could buy yourself a 'Phosphate reactor' to reduce your Nitrates. Just fill it with 100ml of Rowa Phos. If you don't want to buy a Phosphate reactor you can buy 'Rowa Phos' and put it in your external filter/sump. It can get your Nitrates down to 0. They are normally used for SW but still work just aswell for FW.

Rowa Phos
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll? ... ink:top:en

Phosban Reactor 150
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Phosban-React ... 3a5817d2c9
User avatar
Arny
Fahaka Puffer
 
Posts: 968
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 4:33 pm
Location: London
TPF Gallery: Visit Gallery
Location (country): uk

Re: nitrate level

Postby scpion on Thu Mar 15, 2012 7:46 pm

Just out of curiousity.. In a fw environment, wouldn't a nitrate reactor be more appropriate?
I am not a Troll, I am just pissed..!
User avatar
scpion
Fahaka Puffer
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:57 am
My Puffers: Birdy, 22in T.mbu
Location (country): singapore

Re: nitrate level

Postby RTR on Fri Mar 16, 2012 9:19 am

Phosphate reactor for nitrate?

Water changes are cheaper for FW, and broad spectrum - reactors are not.
Where's the fish? - Neptune
RTR
Mentor
 
Posts: 6085
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location (country): East Coast, USA

Re: nitrate level

Postby kcartwright856 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 6:23 am

Water changes are a great thing. Fish LOVE them. I don't know why you would choose to seek out products to remove nitrates when a simple water change would be more beneficial. Plus, your regular water changes prevent Old Tank Syndrome. If something should go terribly wrong and you need to do a large emergency water change, your tank will be shocked.

I'm not a big fan of any of the artificial products to change this and that in the aquarium. There's almost always a simple solution.

Though, yes, some fast-growing plants will use up some nitrates if they get too high between water changes. Floating plants, I find, are best at this. Try hornwort, anachris, or frogbit.
User avatar
kcartwright856
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 12:17 pm
Location: Millersburg, PA
Gender: Female
My Puffers: 2 C. travancoricus (dwarf puffer)
7 Pangio kuhlii
5 Otocinclus vittatus (w/ fry)
Location (country): USA

Re: nitrate level

Postby scpion on Sat Mar 17, 2012 7:48 am

I think he mentioned that his water source has them in it.. 30ppm I think.
I am not a Troll, I am just pissed..!
User avatar
scpion
Fahaka Puffer
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2010 10:57 am
My Puffers: Birdy, 22in T.mbu
Location (country): singapore

Re: nitrate level

Postby bertie 83 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 8:34 am

Yes his water source shows it. In this instance I would personally seek out a method of removing them prior to adding the water to the tank if possible
It's amazing how easy maintenance is. If done regularly and thoroughly
User avatar
bertie 83
Moderator
 
Posts: 4865
Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2011 4:28 pm
Location: brighton , england
TPF Gallery: Visit Gallery
Gender: Male
My Puffers: lineatus R.I.P, South American puffer.
Non puffer
Danios, Tetras, Redtail Rasporas,
Harlequins, CAE's, Yoyo
Loaches, Clown loaches ,Eels, various shrimp,
Location (country): Brighton, England

Re: nitrate level

Postby suvattii2012 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:14 am

The level is about 10-20 now i did a 25% water change two days ago i think it's the tap water then it soon drops after going in the tank. I can't afford a Phosphate reactor and i never even heard of them before. I don't like unknown stuff going in the tank. The only thing that goes in is water and api decholinator, do you think i should add something when i do water changes? and if i do two 25% a week instead of 50% the no3 will be within a safe level and would drop?
Last edited by suvattii2012 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Arrowhead
User avatar
suvattii2012
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:52 am
My Puffers: Arrowhead / Suvattii
Location (country): UK

Re: nitrate level

Postby suvattii2012 on Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:16 am

I will wait to test on monday with the api master kit.
Arrowhead
User avatar
suvattii2012
Green Spotted Puffer
 
Posts: 435
Joined: Tue Nov 08, 2011 6:52 am
My Puffers: Arrowhead / Suvattii
Location (country): UK

Re: nitrate level

Postby RTR on Sun Mar 18, 2012 8:01 am

Just so you know, two 25% water changes do not equal one 50% water change. You would need to increase thr two smaller changed to ~30-33% to match the one larger change. Water changes are a dilution prcocess. Serial small changes cannot be simply added to match the effectiveness of one larger change.

HTH
Where's the fish? - Neptune
RTR
Mentor
 
Posts: 6085
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 4:39 pm
Gender: Male
Location (country): East Coast, USA

PreviousNext

Return to Freshwater Tanks

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests