Puffer newb representin ' slash hear my zoa murder story

The forum for those beautiful marine puffers!
BSPFreak
Puffer Fry
Location (country): USA

Puffer newb representin ' slash hear my zoa murder story

Post by BSPFreak »

Hi there!

So quick(sorta) background. Total newb to saltwater. 72 gallon w/ 30 sump and Aqua C urchin skimmer, marine current orbit lights, mostly FOWLR, probably 150 lbs of liverock...

current livestock includes (In order of obtainment)
2 damsels, a yellowtail and an azure
A melanarus wrasse
A diamond watchman goby
The pretty boy, my brand new Blue Spotted Puffer.

So, 2 weeks ago, I got a regular "spotted puffer" from Hawaii, the Canthigaster jactator. We had originally ordered / requested the BLUE spotted puffer, but me and my gf are newbs to this, so we thought when it came in, and it was small, maybe it was a baby and would get the stripes / markings of the BSP later. Yeah no we finally said no, this is just a c. jactator, not a c. solandri.

We specifically wanted the BSP because a) we liked the colors / details more, and b) it fit my regional theme for tank, Fiji / Vanuatu fish (in theory, you could go on a dive and see all the fish in my tank in the same dive)

A few days after I got the c. jactator, I Got some xenia, and a tiny frag (4 heads) of zoas, as a newb "water test" from my local reefkeeper association.

That hawaiin puffy sob savaged those poor zoas over the course of two weeks. We ended up replacing him because we really wanted the c. solandri, and not specifically because he is a zoa murdering jerk, but that didn't help him?

The c. jactator does have *the* most adorable eyes though. Like, unfairly cute.

So. While we are on the subject of puffers, someone said they are SUPER SMART, and "more like a dog, than a fish" and you can teach them tricks?

The main "Trick" they mentioned was, I can train it to NOT eat corals / CUC by "spanking" it with a spatula?

1. is there any truth to the spank-training? lol