Starting a 4x2x2 FOWLR

The forum for those beautiful marine puffers!
pinkspid3r
Puffer Fry
Location (country): Singapore

Starting a 4x2x2 FOWLR

Post by pinkspid3r »

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie to saltwater tank and am thinking of starting a 4x2x2 fowlr. Still in the midst of reading up, not gonna rush into this project. Maybe can slowly gather equipments in the meantime, as i want to keep the budget to the minimal.

need advice regarding the stock list, whether is it feasible. listed below are some of the fishes i plan to get.

Porcupine puffer
Saddle Valentini Puffer
Flame Angelfish
a pair of clownfish
and probably 1 of the lesser aggressive triggerfish
1 tang

As a puffer lover, they will be the main fishes i would want. Will the list be overstocking and is there other recommendation on the other type of fishes to get? i doubt i can fit in another dogface puffer into the 120gal tank right?

May i also know how often do you guys do water change for your puffer tank?

Thank You!
Flutter
Former Staff Member
Location (country): Canada

Re: Starting a 4x2x2 FOWLR

Post by Flutter »

Welcome :)

120gal of water is only enough for the porcupine puffer. To add any more fish you'll need a larger water volume. For example, to keep a porc and a valentini (I don't know if they would even be able to be housed together) you'd need 120gal for the porc and another 25gal for the valentini, which gives you a total of 145gal minimum :)
It is absurd to talk of one animal being higher than another. We consider those, when the cerebral structure/intellectual faculties most developed, as highest. A bee doubtless would when the instincts were.
Charles Darwin
pinkspid3r
Puffer Fry

Post by pinkspid3r »

Thank You Flutter =)

So the tank will be too small for me to keep other fishes with the porc puffer? Even if i have a sump tank?
Nick
Former Staff Member
My Puffers: Mine:
GSPs - Shakespeare and Jillybean
F8 - Velvet
My fiance:
DP - Emma Goldman
Narrow Lined Puffer - Ulrike