Help to care for my puffer!

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
JHughes
Puffer Fry
Location (country): United States of America

Help to care for my puffer!

Post by JHughes »

Hello! I am new to careing for a puffer, I know that's not advised but you have to start somewhere. I have a little puffer, I think he is a green spotted puffer but im not completely sure. He is small, white belly with a green yellowing back with black spots, very cute. My puffer is a sensitive little guy :( iv had him for about a month I would say, he is doing well. So basicly I just have some questions. I keep him in a 10gal tank ( I know people recommend bigger but he is tiny and all by himself, I will look into getting something bigger as he gets bigger. ) When I first got him I fed him flakes, and now I feed him I think mealworms, I heard those are hard on his tummy so im picking up some bloodworms for him. His water is alkaline and he has brakish water I think. (I add aquarium salt to his tank as directed by my local fish shop owner.) It stays around 78 degrees in his tank. It worrys me when he turns black around his mouth and the sides of his belly, it happens like once every two days, sometimes it lasts a whole day sometimes it only lasts an hour. I heard It was stress but idk how to help him, is that just something he will always do? He has places to hide and play with. I also heard he needs shelled food to dull his beak? I do not see a beak on him... When and how often should I start feeding him the hard shelled food? Also, he had some white fungus in his tank before I cleaned it, I gave him some good fish medicine reccomened to me by a few fish owner to help clear that up. Do you think that could have been making him turn brown? So anyways just some advice would be great :) don't be too harsh, I am trying to care for him the best I can and any advice is helpful. Iv heard of people keeping their GSP in freshwater there wh