Will a juvanile GSP be content in a 29g tank for 1-2 years?

The forum for puffers that either live or start in brackish biotopes: GSPs, F8s, Ceylons & more.
Hillehaus
Figure 8 Puffer
My Puffers: 1 GSP.
Location (country): United States

Will a juvanile GSP be content in a 29g tank for 1-2 years?

Post by Hillehaus »

Hello, new member here.

A little background on myself, I've been keeping various fish on and off for about 8 years now. I currently have 2 dwarf puffers happily residing in a nice, planted 20g long for just about a year now. I have a separate 10-gallon snail farm set up for food.

I've started (about 6 months ago) a cycled (fishless of course) 29-gallon low end brackish (currently at 1.004) that I used to babysit a couple bumblebee gobies and a F8 that have recently been returned to their original home. I am looking at purchasing a young GSP, hopefully around an inch or so in length and gradually bringing him up to mid brackish (1.010) levels of salinity.

My question is this, I know he will eventually outgrow this tank. Will a 29-gallon tank suit a solo 1-2 inch GSP for about a year or two? After looking through various websites, including this one, I've concluded that a minimum of 30 gallons are necessary for an adult GSP. My end game is to gradually bring the 29-gallon tank up to high brackish levels as the fish grows over the course of 2 years, while building a separate 55-gallon marine tank that will eventually be his/her home for adulthood.

here is the filtration set up and info for the current tank:
29-gallon
Tetra Whisper 30 HOB filter.
Eheim 2213 Canister filter.
Eheim Jager 125W heater on a temperature control regulator
My current, well prior to re-homing the previous occupants, water change regiment included 30% changes weekly.

Ammonia = 0
Nitrite = 0
Nitrate = 20

I've been dosing the tank to keep the denitrifying bacteria happily fed.
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus