Starting a dwarf puffer tank

Dwarf, Red Eye, South American & more. Freshwater puffer talk in here.
BedScien
Green Spotted Puffer
My Puffers: Green Spotted Puffer (marine, 100L / 26 US GAL)
Location (country): England

Starting a dwarf puffer tank

Post by BedScien »

I'm probably gonna stock a 100L tank with 3 or 4 dwarf puffers

I want to make it planted with a bunch of nice natural-looking rockwork.

What I'd love to do is to have live feeder snails breeding in the tank.

Is this achievable?

Any tips on anything - I'm new to freshwater, dwarf puffers, plants, and aquascaping.
mblahahahaha mmmyeessss

'It's true because I read it on the internet' - Everyone
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: Starting a dwarf puffer tank

Post by Pufferpunk »

The DPs would pick at them & probably kill them. Never breed food in the tank with the predators that eat them.
You are getting sleepy... you only hear the sound of my voice... you must do water changes... water changes... water changes... water changes...

"The solution to pollution is dilution!"
Welch4
Fahaka Puffer
My Puffers: 1 GSP
Location (country): USA

Post by Welch4 »

Dps will definetly eat the snail. As far as aquascaping get your hardscape set. Then add a good planting subtrate and picks the plants you want. I personally recommend aponogeaton ulvaceous for a dp tank. Looks great and the little guys/gals like to hide in the curls of the leaves.
Forget other advice about puffers you don't hear here - Pufferpunk
BedScien
Green Spotted Puffer

Post by BedScien »

Great advice, thanks both of you.