Am I doing this all wrong?!?

Dwarf, Red Eye, South American & more. Freshwater puffer talk in here.
thegolden
Puffer Fry
Location (country): CANADA

Am I doing this all wrong?!?

Post by thegolden »

Hello everybody!

I'm one of those newbies who are new to caring for puffers and need help and advice.
And would really appreciate any sort of feedback or anything Puffer related cause I feel stressed and paranoid about raising my new Dwarf Puffers.

It's been a week since I've set up my DP tank and I started off with 6 in a 30 gal tank.
And my gullible boyfriend...at my local fish store 2 days after purchasing the 6 DPs decided to get 6 more cause the guy said it was okay.
And even though I'm new at this, I had a weird feeling that 12 in a tank was a bit too much because DPs can become territorial.
Anywhoooo.... it was pretty much survival of the fittest in the tank. :(
Some died from being nipped too much and bullied. One got greedy and ate all the bloodworms and over stuffed itself. And the rest, died without a cause. Although the ones that died all seemed very skinny.

So here I am...down to 5 DPs
4 of my DPs look healthy and swim around a lot and eat when given.
The 5th one seems pretty lifeless and motionless. It's belly seems a bit sunken in and it's darker than the rest of the DPs. (I researched the possible reasons and parasites might be the issue?)

Should I be separating the 5th DP from the others and whats the best solution to getting my DP back to life?

I also have a master test kit and did all the testings.
AMMONIUM = 0.25ppm
High Range pH = 8.0 ( I live in Calgary, Alberta and I've been told our water pH is 8.0 )
NITRITE = 0ppm
NITRATE = 0ppm

When I first got the DPs, I fed them snails. Then I changed it to thawed out bloodworms.
Since they seemed very skinny, the first few days, I fed them twice a day. Now I only feed them once in the morning.

I also have a Pleco in the tank but he seems to be just fine with them.