HELP! All new to me-what to put in a 40B

Dwarf, Red Eye, South American & more. Freshwater puffer talk in here.
DMD123
Fahaka Puffer
My Puffers: Tetraodon baileyi (Hairy Puffer, named Gizmo)
Location (country): USA

HELP! All new to me-what to put in a 40B

Post by DMD123 »

Im not new to fish keeping at all, been doing this for quite a few years but... Im a newbie to puffers. Here is what I have, that I would like to dedicate to a lone puffer. I have a 40B with a AC110 HOB filter, heated and fully cycled. It does have gravel and would like to keep the substrate but if I had to change to sand I could. This tank is all ready for a fish. The problem is what to get.

I dont want to have to deal with snails and what not so I really want a piscivore. I have a list of potential puffers that I think would work as a solo fish in there and just checking to see if Im on the right track. I am looking at the Arrowhead, Congo and Hairy puffers as candidates. Am I missing any other obvious choices for a 40B for life?

I also want it to be an easy feeding and care situation. Do I need to get stuff like crab legs, clams, things in the shell for these piscivore? I know some puffers require the hard items to keep their teeth in check, are the ones on my list needing that? Ive looked at the feeding guide here but they are kind of general and dont really address my questions exactly...

Anyway, any help or suggestions is appreciated.
Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: HELP! All new to me-what to put in a 40B

Post by Pufferpunk »