New from VA

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here!
Forum rules
New to TPF? Read our Rules HERE!
Galen1
Puffer Fry
My Puffers: Tetraodon palembangensis - Lepton
Takifugu ocellatus - Boson - RIP
Tetraodon baileyi - Hadron
Location (country): VA, USA

New from VA

Post by Galen1 »

Hi all! I have been lurking and reading and learning on this site for a while. Time to say hi! Today I got my first puffer.

I have been keeping and breeding fish for about 4 years. It all started as a "gift" aquarium idea with a few PetSmart fish for one of my sons (no real interest there however) and morphed into a full-fledged hobby for me. Most of my fish are/were cichlids from Lake Tanganyika, Lake Victoria, Lake Barombi Mbo and West African rivers. Most are also on the CARES conservation list. So, I feel I did my little part in spreading a few endangered/critical fish to other keepers throughout the US. I needed to take a break from all the breeding/fry raising/selling and have really pared down my "collection" to only 2 species.

Now I have some empty tank space and decided to look for something REALLY different. I was fascinated by arowanas, but decided I would never have the space for such a huge tank. So...somehow I became enamored with puffers. With the help of this great site, I narrowed it down to freshwater species and ended up with.........a dragon puffer. Will work on a name soon.

He/she arrived today and seems to be doing fine after a careful acclimation to his 40B. He hasn't moved at all (except for his eyes :smitten: ), so I'll give him some time in the dark to get his bearings. Hopefully all will go well and he'll start to eat.

Pufferpunk
Queen Admin
My Puffers: Filbert, the 12" T lineatus
Punkster, the 4" red T miurus
Mongo, the 4" A modestus
2 T biocellatus
C valentini
C coranata
C papuan
Also kept:
lorteti
DPs
suvattii
burrfish
T niphobles
Location (country): USA, Greenville, SC

Re: New from VA

Post by Pufferpunk »

[welcome]