intro

New to the forum? Introduce yourself here!
Forum rules
New to TPF? Read our Rules HERE!
ekkop
Puffer Fry
Location (country): Glasgow scotland

intro

Post by ekkop »

Hello puffer lovers im new to site and just saying hi . Im new to aquariums and fishkeeping also and when I was I the shop researching different fish I came across some gsp . I was told these were dwarf puffers and after researchi g dwarf puffers I bought 2 . Through my own research ive found these are definately gsp and a lot more difficult to keep . However I made the purchase and the commitment to look after these guys and im willing to do whatever it takes to make them thrive .they are currently housed in a 20 gallon tank and im looking at a 50 gal as I understand these will grow a decent size . However upon researching these fish I find a lot of conflicting advice on them I.e water salnity and so on. So far ive fou d there are 3 types of gsp and the problem im facing is the fact that 1 of the 3 species if freshwater only the south american im sure T. schoutedeni . Is this true or false as I need to know in order to keep them as healthy and happy as possible
bertie 83
My Puffers: lineatus R.I.P, South American puffer. Valentini puffer, porcupine puffer.
Non puffer
Danios, Tetras, Redtail Rasporas,
Harlequins, CAE's, Yoyo
Loaches, Clown loaches ,Eels, various shrimp, tangs,wrasses, damsels, chromis
Location (country): Brighton, England

Re: intro

Post by bertie 83 »

For a positive id feel free to post pics. If you have gsp they will need high brackish/ marine water, it's likely they are. A 50g will not suffice for 2 gsp, most pairs will rapidly outgrow a 55g, a 75g min is more suitable. Welcome to the forum
It's amazing how easy maintenance is. If done regularly and thoroughly
RTR
Mentor
Location (country): East Coast, USA

Post by RTR »